NC Requirements for Estheticians

North Carolina esthetician insurance
Wheat Field

In North Carolina, there are no current age requirements in place for those who wish to work as estheticians and are going to sit in for the state exam. You do have to hold a high school diploma, or the equivalent of it, in addition to having completed the 600 hours of schooling and training to work in this field.In terms of reciprocity, it is accepted in the state, as long as you hold a current out-of-state license, have passed a national exam, and hold no disciplinary actions in the current state in which you are practicing.

Upon completing your license, and passing the exam, it is a requirement that you do update and renew your license on a regular basis. Your license is valid in North Carolina for a period of three years, at which you have to renew it; it is also required that you complete a total of 8 hours of continuing education, within the year that you are getting the license renewed, in order to ensure you are up to date and have the latest knowledge in the field you are working in.

Insurance Considerations


You do not have to hold a professional insurance policy in place when you are a business owner in the state; nor is it required for you to hold a personal North Carolina esthetician insurance policy either, in order to work in the state. It is, however, a good idea to compare insurance policies and companies so you can find a full-coverage policy for an individual esthetician liability policy. It is the only way that you can protect your license when you work in the state, as claims are going to be filed against you. Not only does your personal coverage protect you from claims, it is also going to allow you to fight such claims like a malpractice claim, or others which are filed against you while you work as a professional esthetician.

If you are in this field, not only do you run the risk of being sued, you also run the risk of having to pay high penalties if you are found to be guilty with such lawsuits. If you do not have coverage, you are paying out-of-pocket fines, and you may lose your license. It is worth paying the annual fee for coverage to prevent this, and to avoid the potential fees and costs, including the loss of a good reputation, associated with lawsuits.