Illinois Esthetician Insurance
How Much Does Esthetician Insurance Cost in Illinois?
1 Year (12 mo)
2 Years (24 mos)
1 Year (12 mo)
In order to practice as an esthetician in the state of Illinois, applicants are required to complete far more hours than the general requirement in other states (300 to 600 hours), and must complete 750 hours before being able to sit in for the licensing exam. However, educational requirements are not as stringent; you must be 16 years of age, and are only required to have an 8th grade education level, in order to go to school for this career path. Upon completing the minimum hours required, applicants will sit in for the exam to receive their licenses. Once you receive your license, it must be renewed every odd year, by September 30th of the year, in order to avoid their license from lapsing.
Unlike other states, it is not required that business owners have a business insurance policy in place, but it is strongly advised to purchase one. This policy will protect you in the event a client is injured in your salon, sues for malpractice, or otherwise has a claim against your facilities. Working as an esthetician, you should also consider purchasing personal Illinois esthetician insurance to protect yourself, from claims made by a personal client. If a client is not happy with their nails, if you injure them with equipment you use, or if they file a claim against you, without the right insurance protection, it can result in loss of your license to work in the field. A personal insurance protection policy also covers false claims which are filed against you, or claims that took place when working at a salon, that you are no longer employed at.Personal liability insurance is just smart practice, for individuals who work in this field. Due to the fact that you are going to work with so many clients each day, and since you will see so many individuals during the course of your career, mistakes are bound to happen. Working in close proximity with clients, there are also going to be instances when arguments will occur, or other issues may arise. Having the right insurance in place, with a trusted insurer, is something to consider. Not only to avoid the high fees and penalties involved with such claims, but also to avoid the potential loss of your license, in the event a personal liability claim is filed against you, which threatens to evoke your license and right to practice in the state you work in.